Sri Srikantheshvara Temple, Nanjangud, District MysuruGumbaz containing Tomb of Tipu Sultan, Srirangapatna, District MandyaAghoreshvara Temple, Ikkeri, District ShimogaGommateswara Statue KarkalaHoysalesvara Temple, Halebid, District HassanFortress and Temples on the Hill, Chitradurga, District ChitradurgaKallesvara Temple Bagali, District DavanagerePalace of Tipu Sultan Bangalore, District  Bengaluru Urban

1. Mobile App Development is under Process. 2. ASI Circle News :: Bengaluru News :: | Chitradurga News :: | Davanagere News :: Hassan News :: | Karkala News :: | Mysuru News :: | Shivamoga News :: | Srirangapatna News ::

You are here

History :: About Bengaluru Circle

In the year 1975, a new circle of Archaeological Survey of India known as the Mid-Southern circle was created as an independent circle with the intention of bringing all the centrally protected monuments of Karnataka under one circle. Earlier, these monuments were under the jurisdiction of southern Circle, Madras presidency and under the south western circle of Bombay Presidency. As many as 535 Monuments from all over Karnataka come under its jurisdiction.

In the year 1996, this Mid-southern circle, for more efficient monitoring was further bifurcated into Bangalore and Dharwad Circles. Bangalore Circle having 218 Monuments is located in as many as eighteen districts like Bengaluru, Chamarajanagara, Chikkaballapura, Chikkamagaluru, Chitradurga, Davanagere, Hassan, Kolara, Kodagu, Mandya, Mysuru, Ramanagara, Shivamogga, South Canara, Tumakuru and Udupi. Further in september 2014, a Hampi Mini Circle (with head quarter at Kamalapura) has been formed by bifurcating Bangalore Circle.  About 85 Monuments are attached to Hampi mini Circle.

At present Bangalore Circle is looking after 133 Monuments / Sites of 17 Districts of Southern Karnataka.